Tuesday, 5 June 2012

Nigerian Movies Academy Awards Debuts in Nigeria + Full Winners List

For the first time, organizers of Nollywood Movies Awards brought the celebration of the Nigerian film industry to the motherland and it was a constellation of the biggest Nigerian thespians.

Held at the Civic Centre on June 2, 2012, the red carpet came alive in grandeur as film practitioners from all facets of Nollywood looking glam in their ensembles granted interviews and posed for paparazzi.

Stella Damasus, Kate Henshaw Nuttal, Julius Agu, Mercy Aigbe, Charles Okafor, Omotola Jalade, Denrele Edun were some to mention but a few of the actors that were sighted, making bold fashion statements on the red carpet.

 TV host/actor extraordinaire Joseph Benjamin beat Van Vicker, Ramsey Nouah, Trybson Dudukoko and Charles Okafor to clinch the ‘Best Actor in a Leading Role’ award for his role in the Nollywood blockbuster ‘Tango With Me’. Mercy Johnson bagged the same award, but in the female category for her role in ‘Weeping Soul’.

 Gabriel Afolayan and Nse Ikpe-Etim also won the awards for the ‘Best Actor in a Supporting Role’ and ‘Best Actress in a Supporting Role’ respectively. The former for his role in the Dagrin biopic ‘Ghetto Dreamz’ while the latter for her role in ‘Kiss and Tell’.

The biggest winner on the night was the movie ‘Mirror Boy’, which got three nods.

2012 NMA’s Full Winners List when you continue...

Best Actor in a Leading Role – Joseph Benjamin

Best Actor in a Supporting Role – Gabriel Afolayan

Best Actress in a Leading Role – Mercy Johnson

Best Actress in a Supporting Role – Nse Ikpe-Etim

Best Actor in an Indigenous Movie (Non-English speaking language) – Yinka Quadri

Best Actress in an Indigenous Movie (Non-English speaking language) – Funke Akindele

Best Indigenous Language Movie (Non-English speaking) – Aye Dudu

Best Directing – Mahmood Ali-Balogun

Best Cinematography – Mirror Boy

Best Movie Editing – Mirror Boy

Best Movie Soundtrack – Ghetto Dreamz

Best Sound Editing – Tango With Me

Best Original Screenplay/Scriptwriting – Obi Emelonye


Rising Star Award - Sylvia Oluchi (Bent Arrows) & Gabriel Afolayan (Ghetto Dreamz)

Viewers Choice Award Male  - Ramsey Nouah

Viewer’s choice award female - Genevieve Nnaji

Lifetime Achievement Award - Chief Kenneth Nnebuwe

No comments:

Post a Comment